Music News Bonanza Home


The Doors’ “Weird Scenes Inside The Gold Mine” 2-CD/Digital Download Available May 19

The Doors "Weird Scenes Inside The Gold Mine"
The Doors’ 1972 compilation album “Weird Scenes Inside The Gold Mine” will be available for the first time as a two disc set and digital download on May 19th.

This will mark the second release of the album this year.  “Weird Scenes…” received an exclusive Record Store Day (April 19th) release as a double 12” vinyl set.  According to, the double album had a limited pressing, with only 2,650 copies produced.  Unsurprisingly, all 2,650 copies sold.

When “Weird Scenes…” was first released in 1972, it was the first compilation album released after Jim Morrison’s death in 1971.  While the album does feature a number of The Doors’ most popular songs, like “Break On Through” and “L.A. Woman,” the album also contains a couple of b-sides, including “Who Scared You” (the b-side to “Wishful Sinful”) and “(You Need Meat) Don’t Go No Further” (the b-side to “Love Her Madly.”)

Weird Scenes Inside The Gold Mine - Track Listing
Disc One
1.    "Break On Through" 
2.    "Strange Days"
3.    "Shaman's Blues"
4.    "Love Street"
5.    "Peace Frog/Blue Sunday"
6.    "The Wasp (Texas Radio & The Big Beat)"
7.    "End Of The Night"
8.     "Love Her Madly"
9.    "Spanish Caravan"
10.    "Ship Of Fools"
11.    "The Spy"
12.    "The End"

Disc Two
1.    "Take It As It Comes"
2.    "Running Blue"
3.    "L.A. Woman"
4.    "Five To One"
5.    "Who Scared You"
6.    "(You Need Meat) Don't Go No Further" 
7.     "Riders On The Storm"
8.    "Maggie McGill"
9.    "Horse Latitudes"
10.   "When The Music's Over"