Music News Bonanza Home


Rush Celebrates 40th Anniversary of Self-Titled Debut


Regarded as one of rock’s greatest power trios, the members of Rush have made a name for themselves that will never fade. We celebrate the 40th anniversary of their self-titled debut today!

The group officially formed in 1968 in Toronto, Ontario. The original lineup was composed of Alex Lifeson on guitar, Geddy Lee on bass and vocals, and John Rutsey – who was later replaced by Neil Peart – on drums.

Early into their careers, the band drew a heavy influence from the band Cream. The band practiced for years on a local Toronto club circuit before finally releasing their first single, a take on Buddy Holly’s Not Fade Away,” in 1973. Shortly after, they released their self-titled debut album.

Rush was notably different from any other album that would be released by the band, and in part because of Peart’s absence, the LP in fact sounds more similar to Led Zeppelin than the progressive rock sound on their later releases.

The band was young and still forming ideas on where they wanted to go, but Rush was monumentally important in the band’s choices moving forward. Not long after, Peart joined the group, and the band took off in a direction that locked them in as one of the greatest prog rock bands of all time.

The band is rereleasing Rush this year celebrating its 40th anniversary, and the guys have been painstakingly working on putting the reissue together.

Happy 40th anniversary to Rush on their self-titled LP!